(COMIC) In the Month of Movember

It’s Movember; the time of year where men shave and the regrow their mustaches within the month, form teams, and try to raise money to fight testicular cancer. I tried that last year and nothing really came of it, but if you want to try to take part in this most noble of endeavors (namely, that of saving your balls) you can find more information here:

http://us.movember.com/

I haven’t been to the doctor’s office in years and I don’t plan to, any time soon. I’m in my late twenties and I feel invincible. When does that invulnerable feeling stop? At thirty? Forty? Lord knows I have seen enough men, including the men in my family, cling hard to that “untouchable feeling” even into their fifties. I look harder than ever before at the men older than me. Fathers, uncles, older co-workers, bosses, even the men on television, and it seems to be that the one real qualifier for manhood is the need to appear strong, even to a fault.

Pride.

As men, pride is what drives us to endure and strive for great things, but also to lie and to hurt others, even those close to us. So great is the need for us to appear strong and in control that we push away loved ones and deceive, and I admit that I have done my fair share of both. The question I keep asking myself is, “how do I be a good man?”. To me, a good man is one is strong, but knows when to exercise patience and compassion, one who provides for his family even when he is neither loved nor appreciated (and that is paraphrasing from Breaking Bad season three, a show which I am hopelessly addicted to). We all want to be the hero: the man who is needed and beloved. The one thing I have so much trouble reconciling with is asking for help. I would rather die in a ditch than ask for help, but so many times I find myself in the situation where I need to ask or accept help.

Bill Burr had a great bit on manhood, where he jokes about how anything that shortens your life makes you more of a man. In the societal sense, he is completely right. But once a man has a wife and children, his life is no longer his own. It’s funny to me how so many of us men rush to that marital situation, where we are no longer in control of our lives, where we are responsible for children and wives. For me, it’s hard to give up that freedom, but I remember some of the most amazing young women I’ve met, and I know I would give up that “freedom” in a second to be with them. I like to imagine building a life with a woman I love and having children, and all of a sudden, asking for help seems like such a small thing.

